This page contains information related to Waitlists in MyUI.
Joining a Waitlist
If a a section has closed with full enrollment and if the department has selected the waitlist option then there will be an option to "Join Waitlist."
Waitlists are only in effect as long as you can perform registration activity within MyUI for a given session. This includes both the offering and accepting of seats. For most courses (session long courses), this means the waitlist is in effect through the fifth business day after classes start. For off-cycle courses, the waitlist remains in effect through the day before the course starts. After this point, waitlists will no longer be used for filling seats that open up in a given course; you will instead have to go through the traditional add slip method.
Once a seat becomes available you will be notified of the offer.
- After this first notification you will either have 24 hours or until MyUI registration closes to accept the offer.
- You will receive additional notifications when you have 12 hours left and when you have 6 hours left.
If you fail to respond within those 24 hours your offer will be revoked and you will be removed from the waitlist. You will also be sent an additional notification to let you know that the deadline has passed and your offer has expired. If you would still like to be on the waitlist you may then rejoin the list, but will be placed at the end of the list.
- You will automatically receive notifications through MyUI and by your official University of Iowa email address if and when a seat becomes available.
- If you would like to also receive text messages, you may indicate below. Currently only cell carriers in the U.S. are supported. SMS rates may apply.
Note: Choosing to receive text messages here does not mean anyone can text this number. It will only apply to this specific waitlist.
Leaving a Waitlist
Once on a waitilist there will be an option to leave the waitlist from the Courses/Registration page.
- Choose Leave Waitlist and then a pop-up window will ask "Are you sure you want to leave the waitlist" to confirm the option or cancel.
- There will be a confirmation notification stating "You were successfully remove from the waitlist for SUBJ:CRSE:SECT".
Accepting Seat in a Section
If a seat opens in a section and if you are first on the waitlist then you be sent a notification via MyUI and official University of Iowa email account (as well as text message if opted in) to accept the seat. Receiving a waitlist notification is not the same as accepting the seat.
- You must accept the seat from the MyUI Student Portal and it is a two step process.
- Once the Accept Seat link is clicked you will be taken to a summary page which will display your schedule based upon accepting the seat.
- After viewing the proposed schedule, you must then click the Accept Offer to have the section added to your schedule. (if the schedule is not to your liking you can Decline Offer from this page as well)
- You will receive a confirmation pop-up and the section will be added to your schedule.
Declining Seat in a Section
If a seat opens in a section and if you are first on the waitlist then you be sent a notification via MyUI and official University of Iowa email account (as well as text message if opted in) to accept the seat. If you are no longer interested in the seat then you have the option to decline the seat at that time.
- You must decline the seat from the MyUI Student Portal or take no action for 24 hours and the offer will automatically expire.
- Once the Decline Seat link is clicked you will be taken to a summary page which will ask you to confirm your intent to decline the offer.
- You will receive a confirmation pop-up that you have declined the offer and you will be removed from the waitlist.