Second City Improv Workshop on February 4th

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Migrated to Confluence 4.0

Second City is offering a workshop for fifteen students on Saturday, February 4th from 5:00 - 7:00 pm at the Englert Theatre. In order to participate in the workshop, you must be 1) an MFA Acting candidate OR 2) have passed through the undergraduate advanced acting auditions. The workshop will focus on improvisational exercises that deal with a variety of life and workplace skills, including, but not limited to: team-building, listening, give and take, communication and thinking outside the box.

*To fill the remaining spaces, any student who has passed Acting 1 may take the workshop.

Name

Email Address

1. Derrick VanDerMillen

derrick-vandermillen@uiowa.edu

2. Kim Cooper

kimberly-cooper@uiowa.edu

3. Ben Schlotfelt

benjamin-schlotfelt@uiowa.edu

4. Mackenzie Calkins

mackenzie-calkins@uiowa.edu

5. Jessie Traufler

jessica-traufler@uiowa.edu

6. Ben TeBockhorst

ben-tebockhorst@uiowa.edu

7. Beth Kilmer

elizabeth-kilmer@uiowa.edu

8. Mark Smolyar

mark-smolyar@uiowa.edu

9.Julie Daniels

julie-daniels@uiowa.edu

10. Emilia Hodges

emilia-hodges@uiowa.edu

11. Emily Hinkler

emily-hinkler@uiowa.edu

12. Thomas Eslinger

thomas-eslinger@uiowa.edu

13. Ben Rausch

benjamin-rausch@uiowa.edu

14.Elizabeth Hinkler

elizabeth-hinkler@uiowa.edu

15.  Jacob Schiller

jacob-schiller@uiowa.edu

For over 25 years, The Second City has been the leader in teaching students of all ages and from all walks of life the skills of
improvisation, comedy writing and performing. The same techniques and skills that made household names of Bill Murray, Gilda
Radner, Martin Short and Mike Myers are easily and creatively transferable to interested organizations. The classes are dedicated
to helping students develop their artistic voice, both individually and within an ensemble and to provide the tools and techniques
needed to express that voice. Workshops draw on The Second City Theatre's history of satire, ensemble improvisation and revue
comedy and serve as a laboratory for the exploration of the future of the art form. Alumni of The Second City Training Center
include Tina Fey, Mike Myers, Steve Carell, Halle Berry, Stephen Colbert, Tim Meadows, and countless other producers, writers
and performers working throughout the entertainment industry.